Quick Stats

Quick Stats

    You are here

    Former H-E-B CEO Accepts NACDS’ Highest Honor

    Chain Drug Review editor Pinto also recognized

    The National Association of Chain Drugs Stores (NACDS) presented the Sheldon W. Fantle Lifetime Achievement Award to Bob Loeffler, former CEO of H-E-B and past chairman of NACDS, and David Pinto, editor of Chain Drug Review. The association recognized the industry icons on the final evening of the 2013 NACDS Annual Meeting.

    Loeffler received the Award in a presentation from Bob Narveson, chairman of the Board of NACDS and president and CEO of Plymouth, Minn.-based Thrifty White Pharmacy. “Our honoree exemplifies that hard work, dedication and leadership can make a real difference within a company,” Narveson said. “From his upbringing in a small town to assuming the President’s position in his company, tonight’s recipient worked diligently to develop a career and life of significance.”

    Tony Civello, president and CEO of Raleigh, N.C.-based Kerr Drug, Inc., and a past chairman of NACDS, presented the Award to Pinto. “The person who is going to walk up onto this stage to receive this award works with a team of individuals who are experts in their craft, so the award is as much theirs as his,” Civello said. “While this individual’s function might seem to focus on serving as eyes and ears for the industry, they take it much further. He uses words, rolls-up his sleeves and even swings an elbow now and again to help this great industry recognize and seize the future.”

    Held during the Association’s 80th anniversary year, the 2013 NACDS Annual Meeting Dinner and Awards Ceremony also brought together four past recipients of the Sheldon W. Fantle Lifetime Achievement Award, including Jack Futterman, Supermarkets General (1997); Jerry Heller, May’s Drug Stores (2003); Robert Kwait, Kwait & Associates (2005); and Morry Weiss, American Greetings (2006).

    During the event, NACDS also paid tribute to Sam Skaggs, American Stores, who was the first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award and who passed away in March.

    The Sheldon W. Fantle Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 1989 to recognize exceptional accomplishments and contributions to the industry. It was renamed in 1996 in honor of Bud Fantle, People’s Drug Stores.

    The National Association of Chain Drug Stores represents traditional drug stores, supermarkets and mass merchants with pharmacies – from regional chains with four stores to national companies.

    Related Content

    Related Content