Quick Stats

Quick Stats

    You are here

    Target, Costco Pharmacy Execs Honored by NACDS

    Retail pharmacy executives noted for their industry contributions

    Target and Costco were among those community pharmacy leaders recognized by the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation during the association’s recent 2012 NACDS Pharmacy and Technology Conference.

    The awards – in the form of donations made in the name of honorees to help advance NACDS Foundation initiatives -- recognize forward-thinking leaders who have shown a commitment to cultivating the future and the present of healthcare in community pharmacy.

    The Foundation also recognized pharmacy educators who have made significant contributions to patient care in the community pharmacy setting. “The NACDS Foundation, along with our generous donors, recognizes those individuals who, day-to-day, are committed to improving pharmacy education, patient care and healthcare delivery in their communities,” said Kathleen Jaeger, NACDS Foundation president. “We are honored to recognize these distinguished award recipients, and to support programs that will foster the next generation of patient care.”

    The award recipients were:
    John Holcomb, Target Corp. VP, healthcare operations: IMS HEALTH awarded the IMS HEALTH Pharmacy Partnership Award to Holcomb, and a contribution of $10,000 was made in Holcomb’s honor to the NACDS Foundation. The award recognizes a leader who values the importance of data in fact-based communication and will support Foundation efforts to serve patient well-being.

    Victor Curtis, RPh, Costco Wholesale dba Costco Pharmacies’ SVP, pharmacy: Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals Inc. awarded the Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceutical Alliance Award to Curtis for his leadership, commitment and service to patient care in community pharmacy. A $10,000 contribution was donated by Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals to the NACDS Foundation in Curtis’s name.

    Matthew Machado, PharmD, associate professor of pharmacy practice, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences: The NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year Award, supported by Apotex Corp., recognizes a pharmacy preceptor who has made significant contributions to patient care through the education of pharmacy students at Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE) rotations in a community pharmacy practice setting. The award recipient’s academic institution will receive a $5,000 stipend to fund future patient care projects or research.

    Jeffery A. Goad, PharmD, MPH, associate professor, University of Southern California School of Pharmacy: The NACDS Foundation Community Pharmacy Faculty Award, supported by Abbott – Pharmaceutical Products Division, recognizes a pharmacy school faculty member (full time or shared faculty) who has made significant contributions to the practice of community pharmacy through innovations in patient care. The recipient’s academic institution will receive a $5,000 stipend to fund current or future research in the recipient’s area of community pharmacy practice.

    The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization that serves as the education, research and charitable affiliate of NACDS.



    Related Content

    Related Content